Mount Kilimanjaro: Africa’s leading tourist attraction

By  |  1 Comment

Mount Kilimanjaro is the highest mountain in Tanzania and Africa. It is also one of the highest volcanoes in the world towering at an altitude of 5895 metres. The first recorded ascent to the mountain was by Ludwig Purtscheller in 1889. This mountain is part of Kilimanjaro National park and a popular climbing destination. It was recognised as Africa’s leading tourist attraction 2016 by World Travel Awards.

African elephant in Mt. Kilimanjaro National Park

African elephant in Mt. Kilimanjaro National Park

Here are 5 interesting facts about Mount Kilimanjaro that make it the leading tourist attraction in Africa:

  1. Mt. Kilimanjaro is the highest point in Africa and the tallest free standing mountain in the world. The height of Mount Kilimanjaro is 19340ft. It is also one of the Seven Summits, which are the highest mountains in each of the seven continents.
  2. Kilimanjaro is made up of three summits; Kibo, Mawenzi, and Shira. Kibo is the highest peak and is a dormant volcano that could erupt again. The last major eruption at Kibo took place over 300,000 years ago.
Kibo summit, Mount Kilimanjaro

Kibo summit, Mount Kilimanjaro.

  1. Frenchman Valtee Daniel is the oldest person in history to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro. He made the ascent at 87 years of age. Each year, over 20,000 people attempt to climb Mount Kilimanjaro. A typical ascent takes five to nine days depending on the number of hours per day spent on climbing.
  2. In 2003, South African Bernard Goosen scaled the mountain twice in a wheelchair. His first summit was in 2003 and took nine days while his second, which was four years later, took six days. He used a modified wheelchair to make the climb.
  3. Climbers can use five alternative routes to reach the Kilimanjaro’s peak. They are Machame, Lemosho, Marangu, Rongai, and Mweka. The most scenic routes are Machame and Lemosho routes. Marangu is the easiest route to follow until a climber reaches final ascent to the rim of Kilimanjaro’s crater.

It is worth noting that Kilimanjaro has six different ecological systems; cultivated land, hearth, moorland, rain forest, alpine desert and an arctic peak. Therefore climbers should take caution when scaling the mountain at different altitudes. Essentially, climbers ought to walk at high altitude and sleep only on low altitudes. More importantly, one ought to be in the company of a licensed guide for a safe climb.


1 Comment

  1. Salim rhino

    November 20, 2017 at 12:14 pm

    Hi elizabeth
    You can do correction in some parts of notes like ecological zone/system you forget the rain forest part after cultivated zone and heather and moorland are the same thing.
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *